A Vanity of My Own: Makeup for the Minimalist in College (Photo Diary)

the-house-on-mango-street-161.png
via The House on Mango Street

A vanity doesn’t have to be a vanity, it just has to be my own.

IMG_1966.jpg

It’s early in the morning. See, my lamp is on.

IMG_1984.jpg

IMG_1981.jpg
NARS Eyeshadow Primer

I bought these brushes one year ago.

IMG_1978
To wash color over the lid: e.l.f. Eyeshadow “C” Brush, To contour lid: e.l.f. Contour Brush, To blush with grace: e.l.f. Angled Blush Brush

I should probably wash them more.

IMG_1974.jpg
The palette that renders the simple and the versatile: Shade + Light Eye Contour

This illuminates my inner eye corners.

IMG_1973.jpg
e.l.f. Baked Eyeshadow in Enchanted

Or one of these shades do.

If I’m feeling especially capricious.

IMG_1977.jpg
Pinking of You Palette

This is travel-sized.

IMG_1972.jpg
Better Than Sex Mascara

As part of my cosmetic prep for junior ball, a MAC counter artist dusted me with this mineral powder.  It even-tones my red T-zone.

My zone looks more I-ish.

IMG_1970.jpg
MAC Mineral Powder in Medium Tan

Only I can tell when I’m wearing blush.

IMG_1982.jpg
Milani’s Luminoso is inclusive to all skin tones

Contouring is beyond my skill. This was a hand-me-down.

It’s perfect for natural eye looks.

Or the only looks I have the ability to apply.

IMG_1969
Totally accessory, but cool nonetheless

My palettes, my impulsive purchases, my primer that I searched and navigated online reviews for. My supply of makeup is all I’ll ever need. Nobody to tell me different, nobody to cast doubt. My vanity is rooted in self-confidence, not the other way around.

One thought on “A Vanity of My Own: Makeup for the Minimalist in College (Photo Diary)

Leave a Reply

