Setting the Tone: Skin Care Spliced w/ Novel First Sentences

My skin care routine is mercifully simple, after much trial and error.

When I was 15, I loved the refreshment of washing my face so much that I would often do so five times a day, each time with a different scrub…to keep it interesting.

But, this only kept it raw, red, and relentlessly dry.

When I hit my twenties, I decided I wanted to take better care of my skin. I wanted to protect it from the sun. I wanted to enhance my lasting potential.

And I didn’t want to be cashing in just to savor something as foundational as my skin.

After weeks of mental give and take, I finally compromised. In investing in my skin care products, I was investing in my personal longevity. I was investing in a future where I didn’t feel a need to wear as much makeup because my skin, under the delicate regimen of certain products, simply glowed on its own.

Some lines of skin care aren’t terribly overpriced, all the while touting safe and relatively short ingredient lists.

As you’ll note while scrolling through my routine below,  I invest in a small collection of products I’ve gained trust in after many uses.

Spliced between photos captioned with descriptions are some of my favorite opening lines of novels that, much like my skin care routine, set the tone.

 

IMG_4090
A view from above. Not included: makeup remover.

 

Untitled drawing(4).jpg

Burt’s Bees Sugar Scrub

IMG_4100
I have sensitive and dry skin which is only aggravated further by daily scrubbing. Instead, I use this gentle and aromatic exfoliator 2-3 times a week. A little goes a long way and at $12.99, this product lasts longer than you’d expect. Quick hack: The sugar crystals that act as the exfoliants go quicker than the oil. Simply add in brown sugar from your cupboard and mix to make the most of the product.

 

Untitled drawing(6).jpg

The Body Shop Vit E Night Cream

IMG_4098
If I don’t exfoliate everyday, what do I do? Wash my face thoroughly with warm water and dry with a wash cloth. After a simple water wash or exfoliant, I always apply moisturizer. This is my favorite.

 

Untitled drawing(3)

It’s Skin The Fresh Sheet Mask

IMG_4104
If my skin is especially problematic, I skip my Vit E moisturizer and use this mask after a night of exfoliating with Burt’s Bees scrub. It’s Skin is a Korean skin care line available, for those outside of South Korea, through UO. All facial mask blends are replenishing and aromatic to an edible degree, but Honey is my favorite. I trust this to shrink zits and neutralize redness.

 

Untitled drawing(7).jpg

Burt’s Bees Radiance Eye Cream

IMG_4097
If it isn’t all ready, it will quickly become clear that I adore Burt’s Bees and their host of natural, gentle ingredients. I use this eye cream nightly. As with their facial scrub, a little goes a long way. Though I don’t notice immediate effects (other than smoothness), I file this product’s benefits under Preventative Care.

 

Untitled drawing(2)

Burt’s Bees Renewal Firming Day Lotion w/ SPF 30

IMG_4099
This works wonderfully as a daily moisturizer and sun protectant. I apply with damp hands to assist smooth application. Note the crack in my plastic cap: do not squeeze.

 

Untitled drawing(5).jpg

Kiss My Face Face Factor SPF 30

IMG_4103
Insert: a thoughtful gift that I may adore even more than the above SPF/moisturizer option. This glides on seamlessly, provides adequate sun protection, and moisturizes like magic.

 

This post was inspired by the popularity of my Makeup for the Minimalist post. Check it out to view a similarly easy range of products that are tried-and-true. Equally worthwhile, check out the novels cited in this post to read them in full.

Leave a Reply

